PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Weird Broadcom problem

jhoe
August 20th, 2008, 09:38 PM
Hey...

I just got finished reinstalling Hardy (hard drive was dying).
Wireless on this machine worked with no problems before, but after the re-installation, I find that the 'Broadcom B43 wireless driver' is green and in use, but I cannot enable it (this is under System>Admin>Hardware Drivers). I reboot but the driver is still not 'enabled' (no check mark).

I have tried countless forums but haven't found my solution yet. What should I try? I am not very good with the linux hardware side yet and have been running around copying and pasting into the terminal hoping something works.

I used Wicd before and I am trying to use it again, but it see no wireless connections.

So far I know:

jhoe@jhoe-hp:~$ lspci | grep Broadcom
01:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 802.11b/g WLAN (rev 01)

jhoe@jhoe-hp:~$ sudo iwconfig wlan0
wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel:0 Access Point: Not-Associated
Tx-Power=0 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr=2346 B
Encryption key:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

jhoe@jhoe-hp:~$ cat /etc/network/interfaces
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

Would it be easier to somehow just reinstall all associated network items (aka start from scratch)?

Ayuthia
August 20th, 2008, 10:20 PM
Hey...

Wireless on this machine worked with no problems before, but after the re-installation, I find that the 'Broadcom B43 wireless driver' is green and in use, but I cannot enable it (this is under System>Admin>Hardware Drivers). I reboot but the driver is still not 'enabled' (no check mark).

I have tried countless forums but haven't found my solution yet. What should I try? I am not very good with the linux hardware side yet and have been running around copying and pasting into the terminal hoping something works.