PDA

View Full Version : Will Ubuntu significantly improve in the future?

AlesUbu123
August 20th, 2008, 01:43 PM
Hi all!

I have been using Ubuntu for about two years now.
I have noticed how nicely it evolves. I remember having to manually mount USB drives in the past, manually installing a bunch of drivers in Xubuntu 6.10 to make things work. In Hardy, all my hardware is perfectly recognised and all media codecs installed with one click of a mouse.

Still, there are many things I greatly miss and I have noticed little progress in some areas.

First, for example the synchronisation framework for mobile devices, such as Pocket PCs has not improved at all over time. (at least not for the regular user).
Second, my bluetooth headphones are still a pain to use in Ubuntu. Also other bluetooth devices are badly lacking support. The sad thing is that this actually works but with a lot of work and a lot of manual configuration.
I am greatly thankful to Wine developers, but some programs are still far from working in wine, and I would really like for that to change.
There are other areas better implementation I could talk about but they are nicely summarised on Ubuntu Brainstorm site.

I know that all these areas originate from problems caused by lack of open standards and they are not actually Ubuntu's (or Linux) problem but I would like to hear your opinion. Do you think it will ever be possible to just click the bluetooth icon in the tray and select my headphones and voila... I can hear the music? Or will there ever be a time when I connect my Pocket PC which will be automatically recognised and synchronised. Or will I ever simply run the some XY windows program and it will just work?

Can Ubuntu users hope to have these wishes realised in the near (or distant) future?

jespdj
August 20th, 2008, 01:57 PM
Ofcourse Ubuntu will improve with every release as you (and I) have noticed the past few years.