PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] C++ Input from Terminal?

Caged
August 20th, 2008, 03:57 AM
Hi. I am wondering if it is possible to get an output from terminal stored in a variable in a C++ program?

string myVar;
myVar = system("df -l -k /tmp | tail -1 | cut -c44-50");

That doesn't work of course, but I think it kinda shows my intention.

PaulFr
August 20th, 2008, 05:23 AM
Could you redirect the output of the command into a file, and then read the file ?

jinksys
August 20th, 2008, 05:43 AM
What you are looking for is POPEN (process open)

http://linux.die.net/man/3/popen

Caged
August 20th, 2008, 08:10 AM
Thanks for the replies. I want to avoid creating a file if I can for now. I am very new to programming in general though so I am quite lost at the face of the man page you linked. I'll see about trying it when I can access my machine tomrrow.

dwhitney67
August 20th, 2008, 11:40 AM
Hi. I am wondering if it is possible to get an output from terminal stored in a variable in a C++ program?

string myVar;
myVar = system("df -l -k /tmp | tail -1 | cut -c44-50");

That doesn't work of course, but I think it kinda shows my intention.
Look at this link for some code that I wrote: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=5507024&postcount=12

If you save the code to a file called execcmd.cpp, you can then build and test the program such as:

$ g++ execcmd.cpp -o execcmd
$ execcmd df -l -k /tmp | tail -1 | cut -c44-50
or using whatever command you want.

P.S. Note that this program only supports one-way communications with system commands/utilities. Thus this program will not work with an interactive terminal applications, such as 'vi' or 'bc'.

Caged
August 21st, 2008, 07:15 AM