PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] NFL Gamepass HD on Ubuntu

Mughoj
August 20th, 2008, 02:09 AM
Hi all,

I'm totally new to Ubuntu and it's years since I last used linux and I never were much of a guru :)

I'm setting up a media pc (hooked up to my projector) and wanted to use Ubuntu if possible. But I need to be able to watch the NFL Gamepass HD stream (demo of the stream here (http://gamepass.nfl.com/nflgp/move/player/demo.htm)) and it requires Windows (or Mac) os and either IE or firefox.

I managed to install a Windows firefox version under Wine and was able to actually start the stream, but it totally messed up the videocard and all colors shifted and I had to reboot to get it in order again.

So, is there a better way of emulating either IE or firefox running on Windows OS under Ubuntu? Something that might work with this stream?

I apologize if I should be able to figure this out myself, but as said I'm totally new and even though I'm interested in learning, I'm not so eager to spend hours or days figuring out Ubuntu to realize it's not even possible.

Mugge

cariboo
August 20th, 2008, 04:15 AM
The only thing I can suggest is to run windows in a vm using either VirtualBox or VMWare. You should also write to the producers and suggest they are losing business because they have no client for Linux.

Jim

Mughoj
August 20th, 2008, 03:27 PM
The only thing I can suggest is to run windows in a vm using either VirtualBox or VMWare.

Ok, I'll look into that.

You should also write to the producers and suggest they are losing business because they have no client for Linux.

I did that already. I asked if they planned to support linux and suggested that they did. It didn't take them much more than an hour to reply.

The NFL Game Pass HD is not supported on Linux at this time. Thank you for your interest in the NFL Game Pass HD.

I kinda figured that out myself, but it certainly shows that they have no interest in linux :(

Mugge

marduk667
August 11th, 2009, 12:54 PM