PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Omg help! I cant open my computer!

ninjip
August 19th, 2008, 01:37 AM
Well I'm really no pro in computers... I inserted the CD I ordered and some installation started after a couple trys. everything went good. atleast thats what I thought... I wanted to connect to my router but I couldnt find how to work it with the help documents. then well I clicked the installation thing on the desktop and then at 20% I got this error. It said I should try and clean my cd. Thing is, I couldn't get my CD drive to open! So well I tried shuting down the computer and reopening. Before shutting down it told me to remove the cd. So I pressed the button took out the cd closed the drive and pressed enter like it said to do. then the computer closed and when i tried reopening it said operating system not found! I tried with the CD aswell! Please help me! I just want a good working OS without spending 150$ for windows XP!

jualin
August 19th, 2008, 01:42 AM
Can you try installing Ubuntu from the LiveCD again?

ninjip
August 19th, 2008, 01:45 AM
By live CD you mean that ubuntu CD that was shipped to me? I tried that already. I tried putting it in the drive rebooting and I tried opening the computer without the CD. All I ever get is operating system not found...

swimmer618
August 19th, 2008, 01:48 AM
Try removing any debris from the disc and booting to it and installing again. If it continues to happen, the disc is probably bad. If you have a fast internet connection and a cd burner available, you should download a copy of the CD and burn it to a disc.

Find it here: http://releases.ubuntu.com/8.04/
if you're unsure of which to download, go with 8.04.1-desktop-i386.

make sure that you have a program to burn an iso file-- don't simply burn the iso file to the disc with the burner built into windows. If you're burning from windows, try www.cdburnerxp.se

The "No operating system" message is normal if the install did not complete successfully.

lisati