PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] How do I install Ubuntu / Kubuntu on a specific drive

empire_a
August 18th, 2008, 10:54 AM
Good day to you all,

Im a complete newbie to Linux so I would really appreciate some help as I would eventually like to be working completely on a Ubuntu system (sorry if this has been posted before, I did try to search the forum).

I would like to install Ubuntu or Kubuntu from a DVD that I got with Linux Magazine - August 2008. I tried to install Kubuntu off the DVD (running through live Ubuntu using some program called VirtualBox)and I had no success as I could not select a drive where to install it (I dont know why?)

MY COMPUTER SPECS
HP Pavillion DV9000, Vista, that has 240GB space on it (2 x 120GB hard-drives).

The first hard-drive (BASIC HARD DISK 0) is 120GB and is used for my Vista C:\ 106GB and the Vista/HP Recovery E:\ 6GB - which I would like to leave as is.

The second hard-drive (BASIC HARD DISK 1) is 120GB and is used for my other documents. This drive has 3 partitions comprising of the following: D:\ 23.4GB, F:\ 44.2GB and L:\ 44.1GB. I have backed up all my info, so I can afford to lose it.

I would like to install either Kubuntu (first option, from the DVD) or Ubuntu (second option , also from the DVD) to my L:\. I have no idea how to select the L:\ for the installation. I tried to used the "Manual" installation step, but I read that the "Manual" option is for intermediate to advanced Linux users. When I tried, I got an error "the root system..."

I purchased Paragon Partition Manager if that helps?
I would also like to have a "Dual Boot" option where I can choose either Vista or Kubuntu or Ubuntu (which ever one I can install)

I would appreciate some help or even a link to a post where I could read about the problem in question.

Best Regards,
A

rohedin
August 18th, 2008, 11:18 AM
OK then, luckily your hard-drive is already partitioned, that should make things a bit easier.