PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Alert

Grez
August 17th, 2008, 05:41 PM
Hi...

I'm VERY new to the whole of the Linux lark and I'm hoping to pick up some tips and tricks from you all.

I'm very impressed at the mo with Hardy Heron 8.04 (I've only had it installed an hour, though!)

So please be gentle with me and if I ask any stupid questions, I apologise in advance!

Daveski
August 17th, 2008, 06:05 PM
Welcome to Ubuntu.

smartboyathome
August 17th, 2008, 06:08 PM
Hi...

I'm VERY new to the whole of the Linux lark and I'm hoping to pick up some tips and tricks from you all.

I'm very impressed at the mo with Hardy Heron 8.04 (I've only had it installed an hour, though!)

So please be gentle with me and if I ask any stupid questions, I apologise in advance!

Don't be ashamed, we all were (or are still) new to Linux at one point, so we know it can feel strange at first. Just ask when you have trouble, don't be afraid to.

schauerlich
August 17th, 2008, 06:10 PM
Don't be ashamed, we all were (or are still) new to Linux at one point, so we know it can feel strange at first. Just ask when you have trouble, don't be afraid to.

I was a guru from birth.

Achetar
August 17th, 2008, 06:17 PM
Hmm. Considering you just joined a year ago, I would hold off on guruship.

(I know this isn't the only linux forum out there, but from my experience it is the most active)

schauerlich
August 17th, 2008, 06:21 PM
Hmm. Considering you just joined a year ago, I would hold off on guruship.

(I know this isn't the only linux forum out there, but from my experience it is the most active)

Before I joined, I was rewriting Ubuntu from scratch, so I had no need for this mainstream support forum. It was only until someone showed me cowsay that I decided normal ubuntu was for me.

pfc369
August 17th, 2008, 06:35 PM
new to linux and just join. i am using xp now on my desktop. can i install ubuntu and try out without removing xp. thanks

Daveski
August 17th, 2008, 06:55 PM