PDA

View Full Version : New to Programming with Java

coderJ
August 17th, 2008, 01:16 AM
Well I'm new to all of this actually (Linux). But I will be taking up Computer Science at my college and they teach Programming with Java under the Linux OS (idk which one).

I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction just to get my feet wet in the Prog. w/ Java world...this can be:

>>Which software should I use (compatible with Ubuntu 8.04).
>>Any tips/advice would be nice too.

If there is a thread relating to this then please post link and lock (If it's the same and I apologize if there is)

Thanks

~Coderj

badperson
August 17th, 2008, 02:02 AM
I don't know if you mean an IDE; but I use Eclipse, although if I had to do it all over again, I might start with netbeans. Both are free downloads...

I'm happy with eclipse, though.

not sure if that's what you meant.
bp

coderJ
August 17th, 2008, 02:08 AM
Yea, I've heard of those programs but I don't know which is better, etc...

I'm new to the whole programming world, so I don't know much of anything about it. So which is better to use Eclipse or netbeans?

pmasiar
August 17th, 2008, 02:18 AM
Quite a few people will be mad about me, because they have feeling what I am going to propose... but you asked for my best professional opinion based on my experience, right? So you'll get exactly what you asked, torpedoes be damned. :-)

Java is quite complicated language, starting from the very beginning with OOP (Object-oriented programming). Also, as statically typed, and with static exception checking, it is quite a pain to write simple training programs. It pays off when you can compile more efficient code afterwards, but it's PITA to get started.