PDA

View Full Version : I'm finally starting my final year engineering project. need advice please!

knadoor
August 16th, 2008, 06:06 PM
Hi!!

just to set the tone im in 3rd year computer engineering (experience with C/C++, 68HC12 micro-controller assembly & with C programming, embedded hardware).

My partner for the project since we're working in groups of our choice, well she's in 3rd year bio-medical engineering. We're both in the department of Electrical & Computer Engineering.

We've decided to do our 3-semester final year engineering project on a portable embedded device to assist blind people to walk.

Basically in essence it's a device which shall be as portable as possible (size of a mobile phone, light, rechargeable battery powered), it's a device which the user will wear as in on his/her belt (given to him via the device) as a strap-on around his waist. The sensors will be around the strap on the outside to detect motion and objects.

Basically the target user is someone who is blind and/or visually impaired. Our idea is that a person should not have to rely on a Cane or a guide dog.

The general idea is with the device on, when the user is walking closer to an object the "beeping" will get faster and faster, signally object is closing in. Several objects can be detected at the same time but each beep will have different tones so they sound difference and on the same principle. Advanced features like audio enabled: turn left, slow down, inclined path ahead etc... we're thinking of including if possible.

-------------
Now that the general idea has been set these questions have popped in my mind and my partners:

1) Which micro-controller would possibly be the best one to use? It needs to be as small as possible but also cater for the features and extra advanced features mentioned above. I've had a look aty the AVR 8-bit RISC Micro-controller from Atmel's AVR micro range.