PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Web Design noob

themissinglink1
August 15th, 2008, 07:46 PM
Im wondering if anybody knows a good way of learning to design web pages. It doesn't have to be to a high level more of a hobby. A real noob so any advice would be helpful. Do the different languages change how a page loads, works, looks? Is there a recommended language to start? I have heard of CSS, xhtml, html etc are these traditional languages like programming with VB, python, C# etc?

Complete noob as you can tell. Please be gentle :)

Thanks

Chris

finer recliner
August 15th, 2008, 07:49 PM
learn XHTML and CSS before anything else

w3schools.com is epic.

Barrucadu
August 15th, 2008, 07:58 PM
I started on web design by staring at random websites' source and figuring out what did what. I then moved from HTML to XHTML (which isn't really a big change), CSS (which is used to style the page), and PHP (a scripting language useful for databases and suchlike). w3schools and google can teach you everything. alistapart.com is very good too.

themissinglink1
August 15th, 2008, 08:02 PM
Thanks. I think i have a better understanding of what the languages do. That should make it a lot easier to google. Thanks for the response.

gilgongo
August 15th, 2008, 08:28 PM
One thing that you you should also do is to buy a book on interaction design and get to know some of the basic principles of what makes something easy to use. Bear in mind that there is no "right" way of designing for usability, but there are better ways of solving problems than others. Have a look at useit.com for some intersting advice, for example.

I'm sure you will simply ignore this advice though. Most everyone else does, but those who heed it become truly great designers in time. Have a look of the works of such designers at places like nyt.com, vimeo.com, flickr.com. Compare this to the works of mediocre weenies at Amazon.com, ebay.com and expedia.com.

dragos240
August 15th, 2008, 08:32 PM