PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Being a PowerUser

pooppoop
August 15th, 2008, 04:25 PM
I am new to Linux and in particular to Ubuntu however i am really
feeling at home with Windows.

I do love Linux and Ubuntu much more than Windows, but i have a
feeling of a damaged usability in Ubuntu.

What i mean is that in windows, every window, every application and every
window has the same keyboard shortcuts.
It is also easier to use Windows without a mouse than Ubuntu with either Gnome or Xfce.

Could you imagine working on your box without the mouse(cable disconnected).
I can on Windows but not on Linux window managers.

Vivaldi Gloria
August 15th, 2008, 04:52 PM
I am new to Linux and in particular to Ubuntu however i am really
feeling at home with Windows.

It takes months to get used to a new OS.

What i mean is that in windows, every window, every application and every window has the same keyboard shortcuts.

May be in your dreams. ;)

It is also easier to use Windows without a mouse than Ubuntu with either Gnome or Xfce.

Can you give an example?

Could you imagine working on your box without the mouse(cable disconnected).

I have a computer with ubuntu minimal on it. It doesn't even have any gui on it. So ubuntu works well without any mouse or gui.

But, I repeat again, it takes time to get used to a new OS. Keep using it and read about it and you'll become more comfortable with it.

pmlxuser
August 15th, 2008, 04:59 PM
well you have the option of command prompt $ you can almost do anything with it. "has standard commands even".

But one problem you have is your perception "You want UBUNTU to be like WINDOWS" i think if you keep in mind ubuntu is not windows then you would understand that usability is a very complex concept and thus what is considered usable in windows might no apply in Linux (ubuntu in this case)

DJ_Peng
August 15th, 2008, 05:17 PM