PDA

View Full Version : How is linux pronounced?

nothingspecial
August 15th, 2008, 03:08 PM
Here`s the thing.
The amount of people who are more experienced with Linux than me that I know to talk to (face to face over a beer) is one.
He`s my brother in law and he gave me this stupid computer. He`s a programmer by trade and has used linux for years at home.
He calls it LIE-NUCKS as in fly, try, apple pie etc etc.

Almost without exception everyone else who knows about computers (and these are all windows experts - people in computer shops, the IT people at work etc) who I`ve met or know,call it LINN-UCKS as in pin, bin etc.

So I call it LIE-NUCKS as does my wife,kids and friends I`ve introduced it to. But am I pronouncing it correctly?
Can I smirk with disdain in the computer shop when assistants call it LINN-UCKS?
Or, am I the one with egg on my face?

blazercist
August 15th, 2008, 03:11 PM
Technically, I believe you are pronouncing it correctly given its derived from Linus which is pronounce LIE-NUS, but in reality its just a matter of preference. I for instance like LINN-UCKS better so thats how I pronounce it.

billgoldberg
August 15th, 2008, 03:11 PM
Here`s the thing.
The amount of people who are more experienced with Linux than me that I know to talk to (face to face over a beer) is one.
He`s my brother in law and he gave me this stupid computer. He`s a programmer by trade and has used linux for years at home.
He calls it LIE-NUCKS as in fly, try, apple pie etc etc.

Almost without exception everyone else who knows about computers (and these are all windows experts - people in computer shops, the IT people at work etc) who I`ve met or know,call it LINN-UCKS as in pin, bin etc.

So I call it LIE-NUCKS as does my wife,kids and friends I`ve introduced it to. But am I pronouncing it correctly?
Can I smirk with disdain in the computer shop when assistants call it LINN-UCKS?
Or, am I the one with egg on my face?

There isn't a correct way to say it.