PDA

View Full Version : Mozilla browsers keep deleting my bookmarks

BWF89
November 11th, 2005, 10:37 PM
So I've been useing Firefox since November 2004. Starting during the summer Firefox lost my bookmarks & settings due to a corrupt file 3 or more times. So I switched to SeaMonkey (an offshoot of the discountinued Mozilla Suite) and used it for about a week. It worked just fine. Today when I clicked on the bookmarks button everything was gone.

I'm useing Windows XP on a Compaq Precario. What's going on?

blastus
November 11th, 2005, 10:51 PM
I've never had this problem and I've been using FireFox (previously Firebird) since 2003. You can (and probably should) backup your bookmarks from time to time anyway. On Linux just backup the bookmarks.bak and bookmarks.html files in your profile. These files will be in a subdirectory in the ~/.mozilla/firefox/ directory. On Windows these two files will be nested somewhere in the "Documents and Settings" directory--I don't remember exactly where but they are easy to find. You can backup your whole profile if you want but I find it easier just to backup the bookmarks.bak and bookmarks.html files.

BWF89
November 11th, 2005, 11:00 PM
All I found was Bookmarks.HTML. But I'm useing Windows so it might be different that what your have.

Still, I don't know why it keeps doing this. Mabye it's a problem with Windows. I last installed it Christmas of last year.

blastus
November 11th, 2005, 11:08 PM
I not sure why your profile is getting corrupted--I've never had that problem on Windows (or Linux.) The Mozilla forums may shed some more light on this issue.