PDA

View Full Version : Most Annoying Words/Terms

sydbat
August 14th, 2008, 05:48 PM
I find that I an getting annoyed by certain words/terms...especially n00b in boards like Absolute Beginners. I think we know you are new to GNU/Linux and Ubuntu because you are asking questions in that particular forum.

I'm not singling anyone, or group, out. I just find that it is an extremely overused (non)word (one of many). There must be alternatives.

What words/terms do you find overused (and therefore annoying)?

If this is in the wrong board (or completely inappropriate), please move (delete) as needed.

dca
August 14th, 2008, 05:49 PM
'robust'

dca
August 14th, 2008, 05:49 PM
'ubiquitous'

lukjad
August 14th, 2008, 06:05 PM
How are those words annoying?

My word that I find really annoying is "irregardless".
Followed closely by "dethaw".

LaRoza
August 14th, 2008, 06:13 PM
"believe you me"

kirsis
August 14th, 2008, 06:16 PM
Pre.

There's too much use of this prefix pre, it's all over the language now. Pre- this, pre- that.

"Place the turkey in a pre-heated oven." That's ridiculous, there's only two states an oven can possibly exist in, heated or un-heated! "Pre-heated" is a meaningless ******* term.

It's like "pre-recorded" - "this program was pre-recorded". Well of course it was pre-recorded, when else are you gonna record it, afterwards? That's the whole purpose of recording, to do it beforehand. Otherwise, it doesn’t really work, does it?

Pre-existing, pre-planning, pre-screening... You know what I tell these people? Pre-suck my genital situation!

;)

(man, was Carlin awesome or what)

I also dislike 'lol' a lot (Yes, some people insist on using it as a word. Verbally. Even non-English speakers. *shudder*).

Tristam Green
August 14th, 2008, 06:29 PM
Pre.

There's too much use of this prefix pre, it's all over the language now. Pre- this, pre- that.