PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual Monitor Dual Workspace

creporiton
August 13th, 2008, 09:30 PM
Hi all.
I have a Dell 14.1 inch widescreen laptop with nvidia graphics card and a 15 inch tft monitor.
What I want is to set it up as dual monitor display such that I have two workspaces with one workspace on each display. Can anyone point me out to the right tutorial to get this set up.

I am sorry if this has been already discussed but I am a newbie to ubuntu and these forums.

Thanks

sillyxone
August 13th, 2008, 10:12 PM
perhaps this is what you're looking for:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=826717

Basically, from that thread, I'd edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf, and modify the "Screen" section (add red text):

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "lcddisp"
Device "Configured Video Device"
DefaultDepth 24

SubSection "Display"
Virtual 3120 1050
EndSubSection

EndSection

3120 is the sum of both monitor's resolution width (1680 + 1280), 1050 is the max of the resolution's height (1050 > 800).

Restart X (Ctrl-Alt-Backspace), then go to System > Preferences > Screen Resolutions. From there, you can turn on/off one of your monitor, or turn on both cloned, or turn on both side by side (as in dragging windows from one to another).

The only downside to me is that my Intel 965 has a 3D buffer size of 2048x2048 so 3D Compiz looks weird if I have two monitors in side-by-side mode (3120px is way too big to fit on 2048px buffer).

Read that post for more detail.

creporiton
August 14th, 2008, 04:41 AM
Thanks for the reply but it isnt exactly what I am looking for. I have managed to set up a dual monitor display with nvidia-config.
My problem is that I do not want the two monitors to be an extension of each other but two different workspaces. That is to say that if the number of workspaces I choose in gnome be 2, I want one workspace on each display with its own set of desktop icons and panels.

lesbianpenguin
August 14th, 2008, 10:45 AM