PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New Setup: Vista Ultimate & Ubuntu...

Luf
August 13th, 2008, 06:44 PM
Heya,

First off, I would like to state that I'm rather new to the Linux scene, although I am adept to computer technology and other OSs. So thanks for your patience...

I have a home built machine. I am looking to install Vista Ultimate x64 and Ubuntu 8.04. I'm not sure if this is a better method than partitioning, but I would prefer to have them on separate HDs. My question is: "What do I need to do as far as bootloaders are concerned?". Last I heard, GRUB didn't 'understand' the Vista MBR or the new NTFS set. Are they playing nice now? What do I need to do to get this working?

thanks in advance!
~Luf.

logos34
August 13th, 2008, 07:28 PM
read this:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WindowsDualBoot#Master%20boot%20record%20and%20boo t%20manager

Try using grub to dual boot. If it doesn't work, restore the windos bootloader from the vista dvd repair environment. Then get EasyBCD.

good luck

Luf
August 13th, 2008, 08:04 PM
read this:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WindowsDualBoot#Master%20boot%20record%20and%20boo t%20manager

Try using grub to dual boot. If it doesn't work, restore the windos bootloader from the vista dvd repair environment. Then get EasyBCD.

good luck

Alright.

Should I install GRUB on the HD Ubuntu will be on, or should I use the GRUB for Windows I've been hearing about? Not too sure how to attack this with 2 SATA drives.

thanks,
~Luf.

logos34
August 13th, 2008, 08:24 PM
Install vista first.

Then, since you have two drives, you could make sure grub installs to the MBR of the ubuntu drive, leaving the vista bootloader untouched on the other disk. Here's how:

-go into the Bios and switch the ubuntu drive to first postition in the hard disk boot order.