PDA

View Full Version : D-SLR Lens question...

derby007
August 13th, 2008, 12:41 PM
I recently purchased a D-SLR, an Olympus E510, with 4 lenses. One of the lenses is a older Zuiko 40-150mm f3.5/4.5 (non-ED).
But....I haven't managed to take a non-blurred photo with it yet, note: I'm just a novice and am just using the SCENE settings at the mo. This is strange as the other 3 lenses give me good quality pictures, even 2 cheepie/older lenses, especially the manual Pentax 100-300mm, which took good pics at the 300mm length 'hand-held' !!!!
Could the 40-150 lens be bad, damaged etc, or should I learn how to use it with Manual settings, apperature/shutter speed etc. ?

lisati
August 13th, 2008, 12:45 PM
When I bought my film-based SLR camera many years ago, I made the deliberate decision to make it a manual camera with no automatic settings. This was so that I would have to learn to use it.

Nick Lake
August 13th, 2008, 12:52 PM
I've got many Olympus cameras - going back to the OM1 (and now the digital E series too)... Are you using the Zuiko using the OM adapter? - If so this doesn't work with the auto focus because it is a manual focus lens.

I prefer manual focus lenses and have purchased a custom made prism focus screen for my E1 (which I'm happy with). I did notice once (after my camera took a bit of rough & tumble and abuse) that although I focused through the prism - the resultant picture was slightly out of focus. After a day the problem seemed to sort its self out?

If there is some sort of weird focus problem you could probably check this by using your manual focus setting:

1] Set up camera and set F stop as low as possible.
2] Set up so that the camera has close focus targets (along a table or something).
3] Take a series of photos along the table where you are focusing on targets at different depths (like a salt shaker or something).