PDA

View Full Version : Any statisticians out there?

akniss
November 11th, 2005, 06:27 AM
I'm pretty new to ubuntu (and Linux). I have been using the statistical program R for some time now, and in fact it is the program that really got me interested in open source and prompted my switch away from windows. my question is this...
Are there any ubuntu users who know of a good R code editor? I really liked Tinn-R for windows, but it doesn't look like there is a Linux version of this program. I've recently tried Rcmdr, and wasn't too impressed. I would also be interested if someone has had experience using Tinn-R under linux with WINE or other similar workarounds. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

to head off the inevitable question, I've already searched google and the R-help lists, and no really exciting finds. (that's where I first heard of Rcommander)

david_finlayson
November 11th, 2005, 07:16 AM
Emacs has one of the best R environments available:

http://ess.r-project.org/

You're going to hate it for at least a month...something happens after a few weeks though. Your fingers "memorize" the keystrokes. You won't be able to type without emacs after that.

David

akniss
February 9th, 2006, 02:40 AM
So after much searching, I've found that Kate text editor has a great environment for using R. It has some basic R Script highlighting, and you can invoke a terminal window from within Kate. Also, it has a 'Project' sidebar that I use to save data text files, spreadsheets, and related .R files. It works bettern than anything I've found in Windows or Ubuntu. Thought I'd post this in case it helps anyone else.

I did give ESS in emacs a go for a while, but never really got hooked. Someone who is already reasonably proficient in emacs would probably love it, but its a little too un-intuitive for me personally.

towsonu2003
February 9th, 2006, 03:27 AM
I'm pretty new to ubuntu (and Linux). I have been using the statistical program R for some time now