PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu startup incomplete after Heron Upgrade

boobahzone
August 11th, 2008, 09:47 PM
I've searched the forum for this type of problem but so far have not found anything that explains this. I've had Ubuntu for a few months now, though I'm still relatively new to understanding it (but trying my best!).

I recently went to upgrade my Ubuntu Gutsy to Hardy Heron after I ran my system upgrades. After getting about half way through, the progress bar for my upgrade seemed to stop (though the system itself was not frozen, just the upgrade progress). It seemed that the upgrade process stopped saying that there were 8 minutes left to complete installation, and after letting it sit for about 3 hours I came back and it was still frozen at that same point.

At this point, I decided that maybe I should reboot my computer (probably a bad idea now in retrospect). I went to restart the computer using a soft shutdown, however the progress bar for Ubuntu logging out would not finish, so I then did a hard shutdown.

When I restart the computer now, it goes through some odd behavior then never completely starts Ubuntu. The BIOS runs okay, then the Ubuntu progress bar comes on showing that it is making progress to start ubuntu, then the progress seems as if it jumps back to the beginning once, then shows that the progress is complete. I then get to a black screen with white text saying something about "Anachron acron [OK]" and "Diferral exon scheduler [OK]" which flashes on the screen a few times. Then, it tells me that my computer is running in low graphics mode because my graphics card cannot be found, and asks if I want to continue or not. When I continue, I can sign in with my username and password, but it just leaves me with a blank Ubnuntu-colored orange-brown screen that never actually opens to anything.

I have a feeling this is because my Hardy Heron never installed. Is there a way I can finish installing Hardy Heron or fix these problems?