PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Blank Screen after "Starting Up"



TJCIB
August 11th, 2008, 08:53 PM
Ubuntu does not show the loading screen after "Starting up/Please Wait..."
No splash screen appears either after some minutes.
I can use crtl+alt+F1 to get to a command line and login.
I can boot into recovery mode,
I tried both kernels with the same problem
I ran
dpkg-reconfigure xserver-org
dpkg-reconfigure gdm then rebooted with the same problem

When I press Crtl+alt+F7 to get back to the graphic interface, the monitor goes into standby mode (blinking light, instead of always on)

I did a search, but there are so many posts with similar symptoms it's hard to find the right one. Any help or direction would be great!

Thanks.

Crafty Kisses
August 11th, 2008, 08:55 PM
Try the following:

startx

cosine352
August 11th, 2008, 08:57 PM
I guess after reconfiguration you need to restart gdm


sudo /etc/init.d/gdm stop

sudo /etc/init.d/gdm start

TJCIB
August 11th, 2008, 09:02 PM
Fatal server error:
Server is already active for display 0
If this server is no longer running, remove /tmp/.X0-lock and start again
....
Along with some other errors
I tried removing the file, then rerunning startx.
It gave me a different output
a bunch of "Module already built-in"
The last three lines:

(EE)SAVAGE(0): [drm] DRIScreenInit failed. Disabling DRI.
(EE) SAVAGE(0): DRI isn't enabled
(EE) AIGLX: Screen 0 is not DRI capable

still same problem on the graphical interface

TJCIB
August 11th, 2008, 09:30 PM
Well I feel a little sheepish...

I reconfigured xserver-xorg a few times trying different drivers and resolution combinations. Nothing seemed to be working, and got some of the "system running in low graphics mode" warnings.

After trying one I thought should definitely work, i stopped and restarted gdm, and all works.

I guess something just got screwy...working now. thanks.

Crafty Kisses
August 11th, 2008, 09:31 PM
Well I feel a little sheepish...

I reconfigured xserver-xorg a few times trying different drivers and resolution combinations. Nothing seemed to be working, and got some of the "system running in low graphics mode" warnings.

After trying one I thought should definitely work, i stopped and restarted gdm, and all works.

I guess something just got screwy...working now. thanks.

Sounds like a driver issue possibly.

cosine352
August 11th, 2008, 09:34 PM
enjoy :guitar: