PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] KDE & welcome screen for ubuntu

atyar
August 11th, 2008, 06:34 PM
I'm a seasoned IT Professional, but I'm relatively new to Linux and very new to Ubuntu. I installed Ubuntu in my home pc on a 2nd hard drive, right alongside XP, and that went pretty smoothly. Once I got the ip address info configured properly for my Pix firewall and DSL, the rest was easy.

Couple of questions though - I 'installed' the Kubuntu add-on, but it doesn't appear in the initial 'boot list' or whatever, where I can choose linux, linux safe mode if I recall correctly, or XP. Is this where I'm supposed to see it, or elsewhere?

Also, is there a way to enable a similar welcome screen to XP, whereby my wife will be able to just click on her user icon and enter a password, versus the Win2K style logon where you have to enter your username? Thanks!

.nedberg
August 11th, 2008, 06:49 PM
On the login screen you can select Session type, select Kubuntu/KDE here.

I think you can enable that kind of login screen under System -> Administration -> login window. Local tab, Style -> * with face browser.

I am not a Ubuntu user (I prefer Kubuntu) so this last hint might be wrong.

atyar
August 11th, 2008, 06:55 PM
Thanks - I'll probably use kubuntu though, which was my first question. Does kubuntu use a welcome screen like I'm after, or does it have the option at least?

.nedberg
August 11th, 2008, 07:57 PM
As I use auto login I am not sure what Kubuntu uses by default. Kubuntu with KDE4 has the login screen you want though.

Attached is a screenshot of the login screen in KDE4.

Simply installing kubuntu-desktop or kubuntu-kde4-desktop will not change the login screen, you will still use GDM (GNOME), and I am sure GDM has this behaviour too, I am just not sure how to enable it...

If you however install kubuntu-desktop you should be given the choice to use KDM.

edog76
August 12th, 2008, 01:51 AM