PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] MultiBoot Questions:New to Linux

lemtargatwing
August 11th, 2008, 03:57 PM
I am very new to Linux. The only real multiboot including Linux I have ever had was on my Playstation 3. I'm sure there is a topic on this or a guide buried somewhere, but my ADD makes it hard for me to search for things. I came here hoping someone could help me. I am running an HP laptop with Vista Home Premium x86 preinstalled. I plan on installing xubuntu on this laptop next to Vista, but I don't want to screw anything up and have to spend a day troubleshooting and fixing things. What are the steps I need to take to install these side by side? Will the install disk partition the harddrive for me, or do I need to do it myself? Should I install the Commander bootloader for extra security? Thank you in advance for all of your help. Oh, and please keep in mind, I am fairly new at this. The only thing I'm really advanced into is programming and a bit of Security testing (call it hacking if you want, I don't go the evil route). Thank you again.

:guitar: <== I like that smiley :)

timcredible
August 11th, 2008, 04:45 PM
when you install ubuntu, the default is to keep windows and dual boot, so no need to do anything. whatever 'commander' is, no, you don't want it.

logos34
August 11th, 2008, 04:55 PM
I am running an HP laptop with Vista Home Premium x86 preinstalled. I plan on installing xubuntu on this laptop next to Vista, but I don't want to screw anything up and have to spend a day troubleshooting and fixing things. What are the steps I need to take to install these side by side? Will the install disk partition the harddrive for me, or do I need to do it myself?

I would highly advise you to shrink vista using it's own disk utility rather than let ubuntu do it during installation. As always, defrag thoroughly and run error-checking before you resize.

lemtargatwing
August 11th, 2008, 05:22 PM