PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] GUI doesn't load on startup

Inetrix
August 10th, 2008, 01:33 AM
Well I received my Ubuntu CD a couple days ago. I have been messing with the live demo and I finally decided after a while that I should install it. So I installed it and now whenever I attempt to start Ubuntu (I have dual OS, I'm on my XP right now) I get nothing but the CMD prompt. How can I fix this? I've already tried sudo commands but for some reason it says that sudo doesn't exist... Oh and just to be clear, I'm an absolute beginner with Linux so I'd appreciate detailed instructions on how to fix this. Thank you much!

ad_267
August 10th, 2008, 03:24 AM
It sounds like Ubuntu wasn't installed properly if it says sudo doesn't exist. I would try reinstalling. Before reinstalling check the cd for defects from the boot up menu on the cd first.

First you could try the command "startx" to try and start the gui and see what that does.
Also "sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop" would install the Ubuntu desktop if you could get it to work.

p_quarles
August 10th, 2008, 04:21 AM
Another thing to try, in addition to what ad_267 suggests, is:

sudo /etc/init.d/gdm start
This should start the login manager that is installed by default with Ubuntu.

For all of these suggestions, be sure to post back any error messages you get here. Likely someone can tell you the next steps to take based on those error messages.

Inetrix
August 10th, 2008, 05:21 AM
well here is the thing. I start it up and it goes from the loading screen (which from the looks of it it doesnt completely load) directly to black screen with letters. When I attempt sudo commands it says sudo does not exist. I tried just removing sudo and it says they don't exist either. I have no error messages when I start it either. It just boots the command screen and thats it.

p_quarles
August 10th, 2008, 05:25 AM
Can you tell us the exact error message - word for word - that you get when typing the command I gave you?