PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Upgrade/Installation troubles

TracyO
August 8th, 2008, 11:02 PM
I have a Dell that came with Gutsy already installed. I was upgrading to Hardy through the update manager, and it froze with 7 minutes left in the installation process--not the computer, just the upgrade.

I restarted the computer, and as soon as I log in, it freezes completely. I can get in through GNOME and presumably other options, but other than the terminal, my computer is not functional at this time.

I went into recovery mode, and it leaves me with root@dell-desktop:~#, and I note that I also get "Profile /etc/apparmor.d/usr.sbin.cupsd failed to load" and "Setting kernel variables
error: "vm.mmap_min_addr" is an unknown key" saying that the latter failed as well.

I'm still fairly new to Linux and haven't had the chance to learn as much as I would like, so along with some help, I also need some patience if I ask lots of seemingly silly questions.

Thank you!
Tracy

Diabolis
August 9th, 2008, 12:14 AM
Once I had a similar problem. While doing a major update, a kernel update, my laptop did a hard reboot. So It left dpkg and the kernel in a unstable state.

What I did was to boot from a live-cd and executed this commands:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade

It fixed my problem.

TracyO
August 9th, 2008, 12:31 AM
Thanks, Diabolis. My only concern is losing everything that's currently on my computer. This would occur if I used a live cd, right? If it's the only solution, I'll certainly do it, but I was hoping there might be a way without losing everything.

Tracy

Diabolis
August 9th, 2008, 01:19 AM
Those commands won't delete anything. They are safe.

psuliin
August 9th, 2008, 01:48 AM
I have a very similar problem. Does this need to be a live 8.04 CD, or 7.10?