PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Add/Remove

Pen3356
August 7th, 2008, 03:33 AM
For some reason every time I try to add/remove/upgrade a program it says that an error occurred and that I should manually run the "dpkg--configure-a" to correct the problem. I'm really frustrated, I'm new to Ubuntu and I just simply don't know what to do.

iaculallad
August 7th, 2008, 03:35 AM
For some reason every time I try to add/remove/upgrade a program it says that an error occurred and that I should manually run the "dpkg--configure-a" to correct the problem. I'm really frustrated, I'm new to Ubuntu and I just simply don't know what to do.

Go to Applications->Accessories->Terminal, this should open your terminal and issue the command below to correct the error: Supply your password (password not being echoed back on screen is normal, just enter your password and hit enter key).

sudo dpkg--configure-a

Pen3356
August 7th, 2008, 03:42 AM
Go to Applications->Accessories->Terminal, this should open your terminal and issue the command below to correct the error: Supply your password (password not being echoed back on screen is normal, just enter your password and hit enter key).

sudo dpkg--configure-a

I just tried that, and it says "command not found"

iaculallad
August 7th, 2008, 03:43 AM
I just tried that, and it says "command not found"

That would be:

sudo dpkg --configure -a

There's a space between dpkg and --configure and -a

Pen3356
August 7th, 2008, 03:50 AM
That would be:

sudo dpkg --configure -a

There's a space between dpkg and --configure and -a

Thank you so much! I felt very illiterate. [I installed Ubuntu about 2 days ago; I left windows]

iaculallad
August 7th, 2008, 03:55 AM
That's a good choice. Goodluck and Welcome to Ubuntu (Linux in General).

Pen3356
August 7th, 2008, 03:59 AM
That's a good choice. Goodluck and Welcome to Ubuntu (Linux in General).

Thank you, Which Messenger Program do you recommend in which the webcam can be used?

iaculallad