PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Ubuntu cannot connect to Samba but Windows can

nexist
August 6th, 2008, 03:33 AM
I have a Samba Server running Ubuntu Server 8.04. My windows system can access the share for my home directory in read/write without any problems. Ubuntu cannot. The GUI does not work (password repeats) and the command line gives the following:

nexist@nexist-desktop:~$ smbclient \\\\obelisk\\nexist -U nexist
Password:
Domain=[ARIYAS] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.28a]
Server not using user level security and no password supplied.
tree connect failed: NT_STATUS_WRONG_PASSWORD
nexist@nexist-desktop:~$

Thing is, the password is the same one I type in when I use ssh. It is also the same one on both the Windows system and the Ubuntu system.

nexist@obelisk:~$ cat /etc/samba/smb.conf
[global]
workgroup = ARIYAS
security = SHARE
printing = CUPS
printcap name = CUPS
show add printer wizard = No

[Plans]
path = /export
read only = Yes
guest ok = Yes

[homes]
comment = Home Directories
valid users = %S
read only = No
browseable = No

[printers]
comment = Print Temporary Spool Configuration
path = /var/spool/samba
printable = Yes
guest ok = Yes
use client driver = Yes
browseable = No

Anyone have any ideas?

dmizer
August 6th, 2008, 04:42 AM
A couple of things. First of all, your smb.conf does not include a server name for your computer. Add this line to your smb.conf after the "workgroup" option:

netbios name = obelis
Your server name doesn't have to be "obelis", I just pulled it from your CLI prompt.

Second, you'll need to make sure that your ubuntu client is a member of the ARIYAS workgroup by going to: System -> Administration -> Shared Folders

If you're still having problems after that, you can take a look at the second link in my sig.

ktrnka
August 6th, 2008, 05:36 AM
you can specify the workgroup adding the -W parameter.

Try this:

smbclient //oblisk/nexist -W ARIYAS -U nexist

dmizer
August 6th, 2008, 05:39 AM