PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing video driver: package not found

Psychicfriend
August 5th, 2008, 11:13 PM
Hello,

I'm very new to Linux. I've had Ubuntu Studio 8.04 on my computer for a few days now and am unable to install a proper video driver to make my Intel 845GV work. I know it's old but this computer was free so I'm using it to play with Ubuntu until I get the hang of it then I'll install it on my other computers. Anyway I found a driver that is supposed to handle my Intel chip at Xorg. I downloaded it and then followed instructions and got message: E: Couldn't find package IntelGlx. I even tried other instructions I got from the Ubuntu Hacks book on how to install drivers and every-which-way I try I keep getting the same message. I've even tried to target the files inside to install.

$ ./autogen (I get: No such file directory)
$ make
$ sudo -c "make install"

This is what xorg says to do to install it.

Please help my graphics look awful (blurry) on my LCD!

Thank you

spiderbatdad
August 6th, 2008, 12:20 AM
a link to the instructions you are trying to follow might help.

Also check that you have autogen...from synaptic package manager. You should have build-essential also to compile packages...installing build-essential should install autogen for you.

tuxxy
August 6th, 2008, 12:29 AM
is there one to enable in the hardware drivers?

Psychicfriend
August 6th, 2008, 01:47 AM
Here is a link to the site and directions for the drivers which I downloaded.

http://www.intellinuxgraphics.org/install.html

Well I don't know how to make it a link yet on Linux but that's where I got it. And I do have <autogen> installed.

Oh, it is a link.

spiderbatdad
August 6th, 2008, 02:13 AM
This is an ambitious undertaking for a new user, to be sure. Building a driver into the kernel is not so easy. There are some other xserver-intel drivers in synaptic.