PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] LCD monitor "Out of Range" when installing

jamoncillo
August 5th, 2008, 03:42 PM
OK.. I installed ubuntu on a new PC (presario SG3309LA) with a HP W15e LCD monitor. The problem is that my monitor displays an 'out of range' message. It happened also when running the Live CD (I used an old monitor to install it)

I've read some posts about this very same problem, but couldn't understand how to fix it (I'm kinda new to Linux) so if someone could provide me with a step-by-step guide That would be awesome! thanks in advance

overdrank
August 5th, 2008, 04:11 PM
OK.. I installed ubuntu on a new PC (presario SG3309LA) with a HP W15e LCD monitor. The problem is that my monitor displays an 'out of range' message. It happened also when running the Live CD (I used an old monitor to install it)

I've read some posts about this very same problem, but couldn't understand how to fix it (I'm kinda new to Linux) so if someone could provide me with a step-by-step guide That would be awesome! thanks in advance

Hi and welcome, could you give us some system specs? Like graphics and memory and so on. If you used a different monitor for the install then you may use the xfix option by booting into recovery mode. Which is usually the second choice from the grub.

mikebear
November 26th, 2008, 02:01 AM
I had the same problem, I ran the Live CD off my PC last night, and Ubuntu boots up, but my screen goes blank and it displays an "Out of range" message.

My current rig specs:
AMD 2.4 GHz (not sure)
2 GB RAM
ATI Radeon HD 2600
120 GB HDD
Im also using a standard CRT monitor connected to the videocard using DVI converter
1280x1024 resolution

decard_pain
November 26th, 2008, 03:06 AM
this is a resolution problem.i get it on my flat panel when the resolution is too high or too low.
this could be tricky to fix if you can't see the screen.have you tried recovery mode?

mikebear
November 26th, 2008, 03:24 AM