PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ndiswrapper and wireless card not working



nodnarb83
August 5th, 2008, 05:44 AM
I have a Belkin Wireless N F5D8073 Express Card for my laptop. I found this tutorial in the forums:

THIS CARD WORKS!!!!! YAY! Right out of the box on Gutsy. I popped it in, put the CD in, copied the XP driver folder to my hard drive, then used the GUI NDISWRAPPER to load the driver. It could not have been easier! (well, I guess plug-n-play would have been easier)

Exact steps.
1) Put Card in computer.
2) Put CD in drive
3) Browse to XP Driver, and copy driver folder with all contents to your hard drive.
4) Go to ADD/Remove Programs and search for NDISWRAPPER
5) Load the WINDOWS WIRELESS DRIVERS Tool.
6) Go To SYSTEM, ADMINISTRATION, WINDOWS WIRELESS DRIVERS
7)Click on Install New Driver
Browse to XP folder and load *.INF file
9) You should then see the driver loaded and hardware present in the window.
10) Click Configure Network
11) Setup your wireless network info.
12) After all of that, you need to make sure you hit the checkbox that enables the wireless network.

However, when I get to step number nine the ndiswrapper states that the hardware is not present and when I click on "Configure Network" an option for a wireless network is not even present. I have scoured the forums and ndswrappers site to find out any info on what I can do but I have not had any luck. Any ideas?

nodnarb83
August 5th, 2008, 11:46 PM
Sorry, I hate to bump this back up to the front but I cannot find any info on this problem. I have done everything step by step and other people have said that this works. Where have I gone wrong? Oh yeah, I also blacklisted default drivers as well.

nodnarb83
August 6th, 2008, 03:17 AM
Still here...](*,)

I have been trying EVERYTHING I can think of...

Reinstall, extracted driver straigt from iso file, mounted iso and installed driver from mount, etc.

caljohnsmith
August 6th, 2008, 05:58 PM
Nodnarb83, how about posting the output of:

ndiswrapper -l
ifconfig
iwconfig
lsmod
sudo lshw -C network
That will give us a good place to start. :)

K_REY_C
July 26th, 2009, 09:20 PM
Nodnarb83, how about posting the output of:

ndiswrapper -l
ifconfig
iwconfig
lsmod
sudo lshw -C network
That will give us a good place to start. :)

Same Problem... Same card... here's output:


~$ ndiswrapper -l

WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/ndiswrapper, it will be ignored in a future release.

netr28 : driver installed

device (1814:0781) present (alternate driver: rt2860sta)

rt2860 : invalid driver!


~$ ifconfig

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:41:10:c1:2d

inet addr:192.168.1.64 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0

inet6 addr: fe80::216:41ff:fe10:c12d/64 Scope:Link

UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

RX packets:2834 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0

TX packets:1000 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0

collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000

RX bytes:801556 (801.5 KB) TX bytes:186930 (186.9 KB)

Interrupt:16



lo Link encap:Local Loopback

inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0

inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host

UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1

RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0

TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0

collisions:0 txqueuelen:0

RX bytes:480 (480.0 B) TX bytes:480 (480.0 B)

~$ iwconfig

lo no wireless extensions.



eth0 no wireless extensions.



irda0 no wireless extensions.



pan0 no wireless extensions.

~$ lsmod

Module Size Used by

i915 65668 2

drm 96296 3 i915

binfmt_misc 16776 1

bridge 56340 0

stp 10500 1 bridge

bnep 20224 2

input_polldev 11912 0

wl 1281236 0

ieee80211_crypt 13444 1 wl

lp 17156 0

joydev 18368 0

pcmcia 44748 0

snd_intel8x0 37532 3

snd_ac97_codec 112292 1 snd_intel8x0

ac97_bus 9856 1 snd_ac97_codec

snd_pcm_oss 46336 0

snd_mixer_oss 22656 1 snd_pcm_oss

snd_pcm 82948 3 snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss

snd_seq_dummy 10756 0

snd_seq_oss 37760 0

snd_seq_midi 14336 0

snd_rawmidi 29696 1 snd_seq_midi

snd_seq_midi_event 15104 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi

snd_seq 56880 6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_mid i_event

snd_timer 29704 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq

snd_seq_device 14988 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi ,snd_seq

thinkpad_acpi 66560 0

nsc_ircc 29328 0

iTCO_wdt 19108 0

iTCO_vendor_support 11652 1 iTCO_wdt

yenta_socket 32396 1

rsrc_nonstatic 19328 1 yenta_socket

led_class 12036 1 thinkpad_acpi

snd 62628 16 snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_ oss,snd_pcm,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_ti mer,snd_seq_device

soundcore 15200 1 snd

psmouse 61972 0

intel_agp 34108 1

video 25360 0

pcmcia_core 43540 3 pcmcia,yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic

nvram 16396 1 thinkpad_acpi

ppdev 15620 0

snd_page_alloc 16904 2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm

irda 197180 1 nsc_ircc

serio_raw 13316 0

pcspkr 10496 0

agpgart 42696 3 drm,intel_agp

output 11008 1 video

ndiswrapper 193436 0

parport_pc 40100 1

parport 42220 3 lp,ppdev,parport_pc

crc_ccitt 10112 1 irda

tg3 131204 0

floppy 64324 0

fbcon 46112 0

tileblit 10752 1 fbcon

font 16384 1 fbcon

bitblit 13824 1 fbcon

softcursor 9984 1 bitblit


~$ sudo lshw -C network

*-network

description: Ethernet interface

product: NetXtreme BCM5751M Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express

vendor: Broadcom Corporation

physical id: 0

bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0

logical name: eth0

version: 11

serial: 00:16:41:10:c1:2d

size: 100MB/s

capacity: 1GB/s

width: 64 bits

clock: 33MHz

capabilities: pm vpd msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt 1000bt-fd autonegotiation

configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=tg3 driverversion=3.94 duplex=full firmware=5751m-v3.46a ip=192.168.1.64 latency=0 link=yes module=tg3 multicast=yes port=twisted pair speed=100MB/s

*-network UNCLAIMED

description: Network controller

product: RT2860

vendor: RaLink

physical id: 0

bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0

version: 00

width: 32 bits

clock: 33MHz

capabilities: pm msi pciexpress cap_list

configuration: latency=0

*-network DISABLED

description: Ethernet interface

physical id: 1

logical name: pan0

serial: 52:1f:f9:22:e4:a9

capabilities: ethernet physical

configuration: broadcast=yes driver=bridge driverversion=2.3 firmware=N/A link=yes multicast=yes

K_REY_C
July 27th, 2009, 07:54 PM
Anybody with any ideas about the above? I've got a sister in town who's leaving tomorrow and I'd really like to get this working for her. I'll direct her to this thread (of course)... but if anyone has any ideas they would be more than welcome. As far as I can tell the OS isn't even recognizing the existence of the wireless expresscard, despite the light coming on when it's inserted.

Thanks! KYLE

ManyBeers
July 27th, 2009, 11:51 PM
Anybody with any ideas about the above? I've got a sister in town who's leaving tomorrow and I'd really like to get this working for her. I'll direct her to this thread (of course)... but if anyone has any ideas they would be more than welcome. As far as I can tell the OS isn't even recognizing the existence of the wireless expresscard, despite the light coming on when it's inserted.

Thanks! KYLE
If I was you I would start over from scratch. Only this time leave the card out of the slot until you have reinstalled the drivers with ndis and then reboot with the card in.

K_REY_C
December 30th, 2009, 05:49 PM
Okay... so I took the advice to start from scratch and the card did exist... as did the wireless connection in the network manager. When trying to connect to the router, though, it failed to complete that task.

Also, upon reboot, neither the wireless card nor the wireless network remained visible/working in the network manager.

If, however, I take out the card prior to shutting down/rebooting the network card will be re-recognized.

Any chance anyone can help me get the next step in this project completed for my sister before return to my home 1000 miles away?

Thanks very much.

SeaJayEmm
December 30th, 2009, 06:00 PM
blacklist the rt2870sta, and it should work....or if you have an old router sitting around not being used you can put the dd-wrt firmware on it, make it a repeater which will get wireless signal and you can hard wire your computer into it