PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Live-CD loopback on hard disk

nizam7
August 4th, 2008, 05:18 PM
Hi guys,

I am a newbie with Ubuntu and am trying out the live cd to familiarise myself. I do have a bit of experience with linux earlier but am not a pro. I have been trying to persist the settings of the LiveCD on my hard disk using the link

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/LiveCD/Persistence?action=show&redirect=LiveCDPersistence

but to no avail. my hard disk is at \media\disk and I am able to create the casper-rw file but when i try to boot with the persistent option I cant see any of my changes. I have also created a user but even that is not saved. I can also see a dev-save file on my primary HDD.

I am using Hardy Heron, what could be going wrong. I have tried the persistent argument at the end of the options (hit the F6 key) when booting and also in the middle just after casper but no joy with that. Should it be casper-rw at all

snowpine
August 4th, 2008, 05:24 PM
Hi Nizam, if you read that document closer, it is a guide for 6.06 Dapper Drake, and it "doesn't work" with Hardy Heron. :(

nizam7
August 4th, 2008, 06:29 PM
thanks snowpine, I know that but isnt it supposed to work with new versions as well. I would have thought that would be rudimentary but anyway can you point me to the right document or instructions as to how I can go about doing this.

Appreciate your help

regards

nizam7
August 5th, 2008, 04:29 PM
I have now got 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon and booted with the liveCD. I tried out add user and changed a few things after logging on as that user. I then re created the casper-rw file and rebooted with the persistent option (splash -- persistent) in the end but no luck again. That web page says that persistance works with Gutsy Gibbon so why does it not work for me. What am I doing wrong

Thanks in advance

snowpine
August 5th, 2008, 04:49 PM