PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Windows XP stopped working on Dual Boot system, while Ubuntu works fine (<3 Ubunu)

AoXoA
August 4th, 2008, 11:07 AM
Ok for various reasons, I have this problem. Firstly Ive a dual boot of Ubuntuo and Windows Xp on Drive C:, and on Drive E: is my storage Hard drive.

For reasons unknown, (Well ok was one of those mini heaters I think) my computer shut down, and here were the problems;

1. Drive C: Which has Ubuntu and Windows XP dual boot/installed. Well Windows XP itself will not load up, and I have no knowledge of how to find out what the BSOD (Blue Screen of Death) is saying. I used to know, but been so long since I had one.

2. While Number 1. was happening, Drive E: was stating an NTSF (The windows XP file format, NTSF is what I think its called, but maybe NTFS? Anyway) Drive E: was not able to be loaded as it was flagged "IN USE". I tried the commands from searching google of the problem, and it was not working, however a check on the WINDOWS XP CD 'repair' worked. So E: is fine, and I can access it in UBUNTU.

3. When I was doing CHKDSK, Only drive E: was showing, it had no option for C:, despite that UBUNTU works perfectly and is Partitioned/Installed on C:.

Anyway fortuantly I am quite certain I can back up most things, but preferably I would rather try to get the C: Windows XP install working instead.

When I reboot/reset, and when Grub gives me the options of Ubuntu, and Windows XP, Ubuntu works perfectly, while Windows XP does not. They are both partitioned on the same Harddrive, (Ubuntu notices both, since its superior of course hah, and windows just noticed itself when it was working). Ubuntu can also notice the Windows XP installation still, dispite the BSOD happening when I try to Load WinXp.