PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Newbie - Recovery failure

luangwa
August 3rd, 2008, 06:07 AM
I am a newbie with just enough windows computer knowledge to get me in trouble. I installed Ubuntu 7.04 on my Dell 8250 with a dual boot to XP pro. I installed all the files that Ubuntu prompted me to install. I then tried to update to 7.10 and let it run over night to install. In the morning it was stall in "Auto....". Nothing appeared to be happening. No working sounds from the computer and no response from the mouse or keyboard. So I shut it off and rebooted. The screen gave me 4 choices. I started with the first and a window popped up that it didn't recognize something and would be running in VGA mode. I clicked continue and logged on. All I got was a tan colored screen with a larger mouse arrow. The screen stayed the same even though I gave it 2 hours to finish..nothing. I get the same response in the other 3 choices including the recovery mode. Is there any way that I can fixed this using Ubuntu 7.04 CD? I would prefer not having to do the old Windose Two step...format and reload.

Thanks for your anticipated assistance.

Rocket2DMn
August 3rd, 2008, 07:20 AM
I think your best bet is to just reinstall the Ubuntu part of your dual boot, but use the latest version of Ubuntu - 8.04 Hardy Heron. During the install process, you need to make sure you tell it to overwrite the existing partition rather than using the default which will create a new partition for this install (you don't want a triple boot). This may require you to use the manual partitioning feature.

zvacet
August 3rd, 2008, 08:34 AM