PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New Install

Lita_Sur
August 3rd, 2008, 12:13 AM
I'm new with Linux. I got this Magazine ( The Linux Starter Pack )from work to find out how Linux works. This Magazine has a DVD where I can start my Computer from to Install Ubuntu. The very first time I boot my Computer straight from this DVD it works perfectly as the book shown, but after step 6 ( hard drive partitioning ) I stopped the installation, because I was not sure if I wanted to install at my C:drive. I changed my mind, becaus I have an extra hard drive & I just installed it. So I tried this installation again so I don't have to partitioned my hard drive where Windows is installed. As I started to boot from the dvd & I choose to install Ubuntu I got this black Screen with this message : BusyBox v1.1.3 (Debian 1:1.1.3-5Ubuntu7) Built-in Shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.
(initramfs)_

What now? Because the first time i boot straight from DVD I didn't get this message, but the steps to install Ubuntu.

Can someone help me please.

Regards, Carmelita

redraiderbum
August 3rd, 2008, 12:36 AM
If the live cd works, why not boot to the live cd and use the installer there?

Lita_Sur
August 3rd, 2008, 12:45 AM
That is what I did... boot from live CD

redraiderbum
August 3rd, 2008, 12:48 AM
Ok so none of the boot options work? You always get it throwing this error?

If that is the case, did you change anything about the computer from the time it worked to the time it didn't? Other than the addition of a hard drive.

Lita_Sur
August 3rd, 2008, 01:06 AM
I Haven't change anything:(. That's why it's frustrating me now!
What does this message means, when dvd is loading after I choose for Start or Install Ubuntu :

BusyBox v1.1.3 (Debian 1:1.1.3-5Ubuntu7) Built-in Shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.
(initramfs)_

I think there is a command I need to type to go further.... or not?

Regards, Carmelita

redraiderbum
August 3rd, 2008, 01:14 AM