PDA

View Full Version : Newb question: How do i make common applications?

Pasty-Flawss
August 1st, 2008, 09:50 AM
I'm new to programming and i was wondering how do i make a common application like lets say... Msn messenger or any other program that you can download.

I know python and I'm using the toolkit Tkinter. Yet when i compile it, it only makes a .py. I know if i use py2exe it will turn it into an exe (im on a windows at the moment). But this still isn't really a proper application.

Maybe i'm going down the wrong path learning python etc. if I want to make applications so i'm asking how do i make applications?

I know the answer is probably easily found through google but i don't know what to search (I have tried)

Thanks.

henchman
August 1st, 2008, 09:57 AM
Well I believe you can write proper applications in python + tkinter :)

With python you can create GUIs and you have OS independent network access, so you could create your own MSN Messenger :)

Many projects in the Open source world are created with python, especially for ubuntu. But if you mean how to create programs for windows which, for example, can be sold - then i would recommend using C++ with a GUI / All purpose toolkit like Qt, GTK+ or wxWidgets...

a more easier approach would be using Java - it is ad-hoc compiled when executing the program, just like eg. python, but the java vm is more widespread than the python one.

if you would like to have more specific answers you have to give a more specific question :>

Pasty-Flawss
August 1st, 2008, 10:05 AM
I thought C++ lacked platform independence?

And java's nice but i just cant understand why EVERYTHING has to be in a class? but i might continue to learn that.

But if C++ can write nice windows programs which can be sold then i might continue to learn that.

henchman
August 1st, 2008, 10:33 AM
I thought C++ lacked platform independence?