PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] No keyboard input to Hardy

collier
August 1st, 2008, 06:30 AM
Hi folks, I need help! My 3 month old installation of Hardy has just decided that it will not accept keyboard input at all. I cannot use terminal, nor can I access root terminal. I cannot edit my documents or images except by mouse controls.
Can anyone tell me what has happened? And better still, can anyone tell me how to resolve the issue.

I am presently using the 'other' OS. As you can see the keyboard works OK here.

Incidentally, I have been using Ubuntu for several years now. I really like it. Up to now I have had no problem with it apart from "operator problems", and I have been able to find a way to solve all of those with the help of these excellent forums.

BTW I suppose it might be obvious to some, but I should state it anyway. I have keyboard input to the log-in screen, but not after that. Obviously the problem is not in the kernel, but in Gnome. Hence my decision to place this thread in the Desktop Environments forum.

Any clues . . .

mortenb
August 1st, 2008, 12:32 PM
I had the exact same problem yesterday, when I somehow had managed to enable the "Slow keys" keyboard filter.

Go to System settings > Accessibility and then the "Keyboard filters" tab and disable "Slow keys" and you should be good to go :)

Btw. I am told that I probably enabled the "Slow keys" by holding down the Shift button for too long.

collier
August 2nd, 2008, 12:21 AM
I had the exact same problem yesterday, when I somehow had managed to enable the "Slow keys" keyboard filter.

Go to System settings > Accessibility and then the "Keyboard filters" tab and disable "Slow keys" and you should be good to go :)

Btw. I am told that I probably enabled the "Slow keys" by holding down the Shift button for too long.

Thanks mortenb. I checked this out as you suggested and found no solution. Slow keys is disabled and I still have no keyboard input whatsoever.