PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Should I build my own computer or buy a laptop?

nerd0795
August 1st, 2008, 02:43 AM
Well, recently I'm saving up alot of money for a $1000 price ranged computer (with desktop $700) and I can't decide for myself build my own desktop or buy a laptop.

Here's the factors:

If I was to build my own it would be a budget build.
If I was to get a laptop I would try to get a Toshiba Satellite.

-I do use Windows Vista and ubuntu so I will set up a dual boot.

-I do game mildly (Warcraft 3, Halo, Halo 2. I have a ps3 for my gaming.

-I am a High school student taking a technology course. A laptop would be good for it because I rather not use the school's junky dell pc's that are riddled with viruses. They are slow annoying and always crash on me :(

-I do go on a vacation to my family in another province for about 2 months. I would like to bring my laptop down since well... I want to use linux. I am still on vacation and the minute I get home it's ubuntu time!!!

-I want something that will last until Windows 7 is released.

-I want to be either a computer repair person or computer programmer (with my own independent software company (for my income) and opensource to help out the linux community) Do you know which job would be higher paying?

-I'm obsessed with computers.

-I never built my own.

-I'm kinda of easy for me to get nervous... lol I was helping a friend build a computer (I only got to screw in a few screws and put in the ram) and I was nervous opening the box for the processor. I was nervous of touching the case. though it could be because I didn't have money at the time. (note: A computer repair person was showing me how)

-I like to use Sony vegas. Though only the trial lol. I need to save up.

-I will make a youtube channel dedicated to Windows and linux tips and tricks. I might make a blog to it. Does anybody know how to prevent a blog from being exploited? I want to make a blog but I'm afraid that it will be hacked.