PDA

View Full Version : Programs written in C++?

Syndacate
July 31st, 2008, 07:06 AM
Hey,

I'm a software engineering student at RIT.

I know Java, and am currently reading a book on C++. I don't know C.

I've been searching some of the open source, more common software, to see how software "interacts" with an OS (opposed to the mindless goal oriented terminal programs we create in classes), but it seems everything is written in C, which doesn't really help me b/c I don't know C.

Is there any common programs (that a lot of pple use) with open (public) source that's written in C++? I'll admit I didn't do much searching, pidgin is written in C, not sure what else is on the "very commonly used" OSS list, was wondering if anybody could throw some suggestions out here?

I'm just trying to get an idea about how programs interact with certain aspects, like searching, browsing, filtering, daemons, minmizing to tray, etc.

Thanks in advance.

lisati
July 31st, 2008, 07:09 AM
www.programmersheaven.com might be a useful resource to check out - it has information for a variety of languages and platforms, including C++ and Linux.

mssever
July 31st, 2008, 07:10 AM
Qt is the first thing that comes to mind. Also, I think I remember that OpenOffice is in C++.

era86
July 31st, 2008, 07:12 AM
I would try and understand C first, it will help with your C++ work. ;)

I would look into the QT library and see its implementation. It's open source!

nvteighen
July 31st, 2008, 09:50 AM
Firefox uses C++ (but not only).

Syndacate
July 31st, 2008, 10:54 AM
I would try and understand C first, it will help with your C++ work. ;)

I would look into the QT library and see its implementation. It's open source!

Is QT the system you need to add for Gentoo to work with KDE?

I was thinking of a more direct, single, program...like katapult or something easy to understand using it, therefore shouldn't be too difficult to try to learn how it ticks, y'know what I mean?