PDA

View Full Version : Passing data from php page to html page. Question from a beginner.

tc101
July 30th, 2008, 09:26 PM
I am just learning php.

I have crated 2 web pages. Page test01.html accepts data in a form and then passes it to page test02.php using this statement:

<form action="test02.php" method="post"

Page test02.php uses the data passed from test01.html to update a database. I have all of this working.

I am confused about reading data from the database in test02 and passing it back to be displayed in test01. Can that be done?

All the examples I have seen show a page like test02 creating a web page on the fly using data from the database, putting it all in in a big string like $display_block and then using:

echo $display_block;

Is this the only way to do it?

What if test01.html is a big elaborate web page and all you want to do is display one extra name in it. You get that name from the database you read in test02.php. Do you have to rebuild all of test01.html with code in test02.php, or is there some way you can just pass back that one name?

LaRoza
July 30th, 2008, 10:56 PM
You just query the database to get the data. I don't see what the problem is.

tc101
July 30th, 2008, 11:58 PM
I understand that I query the database to get the data. I don't understand how to put that data from the server side php into the client side html.

This may show a very basic lack of understanding on my part. Remember I am a beginner. Could someone point me at some sample code?

LaRoza
July 31st, 2008, 02:22 AM
I understand that I query the database to get the data. I don't understand how to put that data from the server side php into the client side html.

This may show a very basic lack of understanding on my part. Remember I am a beginner. Could someone point me at some sample code?

$results = query_database();

echo "The results are".$results;