PDA

View Full Version : New Linux/Ubuntu User Needing Help with Compiz

Utemetsu
July 30th, 2008, 06:03 PM
Hello all. I'm a new linux user, and, after a recommendation from one of my clanmates for BF2, I chose ubuntu. Now, I have no idea what I'm doing most of the time in linux, so bear with me.

I want to install Compiz Fusion -- that fancy desktop cube thing with all the crazy animations and whatnots.

Now I dont want you thinking that I'm a total Computer noob, its just that I have been raised on Windows my whole life, so when you start throwing around things like compilers etc I get lost pretty easy.

I have the latest Ubuntu; 8.04 (hardy heron, I think is what it's called) and I want to know how to get compiz-fusion working; whether it's installed already or not.

Thanks,

Utemetsu

joshdudeha
July 30th, 2008, 06:07 PM
It's already installed.
But you need the compiz-configuration-settings-manager.

Goto System>Administration>Synaptic Package Manager
and search for Compiz-configuration-settings-manager

install it, and then go to Systems>Preferences and it will be listed there.

Enable the 3d cube, and the rotate-cube plugins.

Make sure you have 4 desk spaces, not the two that are pre-configured.
Ctrl + Alt + Left mouse click will do the 3d cube.
Hope I've helped?
And this should be in the Desktop Effects & Customization or Absolute beginner forum.
but since you're new that's fine =]

hope I've helped

Kevbert
July 30th, 2008, 06:11 PM
What's your video card ?

Utemetsu
July 30th, 2008, 06:21 PM
Thanks, sorry for the mis-post; I looked around and didn't know which one to post in...

Thanks for the very fast reply. I'll take care of it when I get home from work.