PDA

View Full Version : Programming with Linux

randipoling
July 30th, 2008, 02:02 AM
I am new to all this programmingof software. I have started out with it in Visual Studio on windows. But I am wanting to expand to Linux aswell. Anyone know where I can find a tutorial or something to help guide me when it comes to programming and writing software in linux?

thanks for reading.

knightcoder
July 30th, 2008, 02:07 AM
If you're working on C++ on VS, the language doesn't change much on Linux, the only difference is the interface and the way you compile and build.

I personally am very comfortable with vim editor and gcc, makefiles. Its the bread and butter of programming in C/C++ on Linux.

All the above is command line based. If you love GUI, you may have to do some search and find something that closely emulates VS.

Good luck !

ibuclaw
July 30th, 2008, 02:12 AM
Nothing beats CLI programming in Linux, it is the way to go!!!

But, if you are serious about your IDEs, then check out and install Code::Blocks 8.0 (http://www.codeblocks.org/)

It is quite possibly the best Dedicated C/C++ IDE out there...

If you used VB.NET, there is Gambas 2 (apt://gambas2), although it is a branch of BASIC, not a copy of MS' VB.

And lastly, C#, there is Mono Develop (apt://monodevelop).

Regards
Iain

[EDIT]
Fixed broken apt:// links...

randipoling
July 30th, 2008, 02:15 AM
Ive been messing around with C# just to start out and to get the feel of things. Which I am not sure is the best way to go? I;m going to college fro programming,b ut I dont start actually doing the code and progrraming itself til this fall. So I probably should take a look at C++, and so on, right? I just want to learn on my own aand take that with me to class, because I plan on making a career out of this, and my life is being planned as we speak, and yeah, aside from my life, all the suggestions that can be made would be great! =D

thanks to everyone that has already posted!