PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] linux_newb wants home_server! :)

jcway212
July 29th, 2008, 04:46 PM
I am very new to linux, and just got together the parts for a home server...nothing fancy.

Here is what I want to do:

File and Print Server

Server accessed via remote desktop through my XP machine. I want to be able to play around in my linux box from my XP machine. :)

I am trying to choose which distro to use, because I need some sort of GUI to do this, because I am so new.

Anyways, I narrowed down my search to either:
Ubuntu Hardy
Linux Mint
OpenSUSE

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Paul

forger
July 29th, 2008, 04:55 PM
Ubuntu hardy, but since you like GUI, try the desktop first, and install your server stuff later

The ubuntu wiki and help sites can be really helpful:
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/VMWare
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/ApacheMySQLPHP
etc...

jcway212
July 29th, 2008, 05:56 PM
So you are saying install the desktop version first and use that as a server and install the apps, etc. The one thing I am going to do is make this linux server a headless unit and access it via remote desktop on my computer which is running XP. Any other suggestions?

halitech
July 29th, 2008, 05:59 PM
if you are going headless, make sure you install some kind of remote control app while you have the monitor connected and make sure you can log in before you make it headless. Nothing as frustrating as getting it where you want only to find out you can't remote into it and have to dig it back out

jcway212
July 29th, 2008, 06:04 PM
if you are going headless, make sure you install some kind of remote control app while you have the monitor connected and make sure you can log in before you make it headless. Nothing as frustrating as getting it where you want only to find out you can't remote into it and have to dig it back out