PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Question regarding upgrading and partitions

xeroguitar
July 28th, 2008, 07:24 PM
Ok, I am new to Ubuntu and Linux in general so I don't know a whole lot yet about it but I am learning.

So to start off I downloaded 8.04 and couldn't install it because I have an older machine. So I installed 6.06 and I now upgraded to 7.04 but I screwed up the partitions so now I have 3 partitions. One is my Windows partition, the other two are 6.06 and 7.04 so it didn't upgrade it just did a clean install on another partition. It split my 6.06 partition in two.

My question is, Is there any way I can delete 6.06 and stretch the partition 7.04 is installed on to make it one partition again? Or do I have to re install everything?

zvacet
July 28th, 2008, 09:05 PM
Can you give more informations about your comp?Maybe you can try Xubuntu alternate CD. (http://www.xubuntu.org/get)

snowpine
July 28th, 2008, 09:27 PM
Ok, I am new to Ubuntu and Linux in general so I don't know a whole lot yet about it but I am learning.

So to start off I downloaded 8.04 and couldn't install it because I have an older machine. So I installed 6.06 and I now upgraded to 7.04 but I screwed up the partitions so now I have 3 partitions. One is my Windows partition, the other two are 6.06 and 7.04 so it didn't upgrade it just did a clean install on another partition. It split my 6.06 partition in two.

My question is, Is there any way I can delete 6.06 and stretch the partition 7.04 is installed on to make it one partition again? Or do I have to re install everything?

To answer your question, you can use a Live CD with a partition editor (I would recommend Gparted since your system presumably can't run the Ubuntu Live CD) to delete the unwanted partition and resize the one you want to keep. It should be easy, but of course, back up anything important first!