PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] install problems U8.04

bfuzze
July 27th, 2008, 07:19 PM
Installation problems on new desktop using Ubuntu 8.04 Live CD. Initial screen loads ('Try Ubunto...', 'Install Ubuntu...', etc.), but after selecting either of the first 2 options the kernel loads and then the system freezes with blinking cursor in upper left corner. I tried removing boot options and could see the initialization and it always stops after

io scheduler cfq registered (default)
I googled this and all related posts suggested using the standard optional parameters: noapic acpi=off nolapic which I tried, but had no effect.

I'm new to Ubuntu, but need to get it working asap. I have some experience debugging within Ubuntu, but not installation so I don't even know how to find the error.

I should note that I was able to successfully install Ubuntu on this machine earlier as first os, but then when trying to setup Windows, the Windows XP installer would not recognize the partitions or even the entire drive (the latter because apparently the prior to SP2 XP can't recognize drives over a certain size). So I decided to try to install Windows first, then Ubuntu. This tells me this might be related to the partitioning, again, except this time on the Ubuntu side (even though I made sure the Windows installer left the unpartitioned space as free (unformatted) space). I'd be fine with wiping the
Windows install, but I can't even get to the Ubuntu desktop.

I also tried reconfiguring hardware components via BIOS, but if it installed before...

I'm out of ideas and could really use some assistance or perhaps just the best way to format the drive, but that would be a last resort.

TIA

Pumalite
July 27th, 2008, 07:31 PM
Did you try 'Safe Graphics'?

bfuzze
July 27th, 2008, 08:13 PM
I tried selecting safe graphics mode from the popup on the initial screen, no change.