PDA

View Full Version : how to write & compile c++, java, python progams in emacs

sam2501
July 26th, 2008, 09:35 AM
i want to write c/c++, java & python programs & should be able to compile them in my emacs

i am new to this whole ubuntu, linux, emacs scene but i was able to install
common lisp & now able to compile lisp programs from emacs

i want to know whether if this can be extended to other languages as well & am really confused:confused::confused:

it wud be cool if i can compile in all these languages in emacs rather than
a seperate app for each one

forgive me if posted this thread in the wrong place

ConMan318
July 26th, 2008, 09:45 AM
Emacs is a text editor, not a compiler. You can write any program in emacs, and compile/run them in a terminal or as executables.

For starting off I would assume you want to be running them from the terminal. In this case, you use Emacs to make the text file of the source code. Then, depending on the language you are writing in, you run and/or compile that source code. For example, for C, you would navigate to the folder containing the file that you want to compile. Then you run

gcc fileName.c
./a.out

For python you would run "python filename.py". Look up a tutorial on one of those languages. Generally, the first thing that a programming tutorial covers is installing the language and then how to run programs.

sam2501
July 26th, 2008, 12:51 PM
you have a point der, but i want to compile them from within emacs
much like when i press
M-x slime
i was taken to lisp repl or prompt
are there any ways of implementing other languages like this
where i can edit & compile lisp programs from within emacs by doing m-x slime rather than alternating between terminal & emacs for compiling & editing respectively :(:(

And BTW thanks for the reply

darpified
July 26th, 2008, 01:32 PM
Use `M-x compile’, which will run make in the current directory.