PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't get Hardy Heron liveCD to work - buffer I/O error

admarshall2
July 25th, 2008, 07:41 PM
I am a Linux novice and would really appreciate any help that you can provide. After tinkering with Feisty Fawn and Gutsy Gibbon on an old desktop over the past year, I decided to try turning my main desktop (eMachines T6412 (http://www.emachines.com/support/product_support.html?cat=Desktops&subcat=T-Series&model=T6412) with RAM expanded to 1GB) into a dual-boot machine with Windows XP Home (already on it) and Hardy Heron. However, when I boot with the live CD (tried both i386 and 64 versions), here’s what happens:

1. I choose English as my language and then “Try Ubuntu without any change to your computer.”
2. The orange progress bar goes back and forth for a few minutes, followed by nothing but a blinking cursor.
3. After a few minutes, two lines with the same error message (“Buffer I/O error on device fd0, logical block 0”) pop up. Each of these is preceded by a long number that changes every time I try to start the live CD.
4. After this, the rest of the messages that scroll down the screen end with [OK].
5. A log-in screen pops up next. After a 10-second countdown, the user “ubuntu” is automatically logged in. But at this point my screen flickers and I am taken back to the log-in screen. This happens over and over.
6. When I choose to shut down Ubuntu from the log-in screen, all I see is a few bands of the Ubuntu desktop color at the top, then a band of aqua, then black. I have to force the computer to shut down.