PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can I install Ubuntu on 4Gb USB drive?

Triple-H
July 25th, 2008, 04:09 PM
Hi UBUNTU users!

I am new to Linux and I use Puppy linux because i can run it completely from USB drive

However, i am very dis-satisfied because it supports its own software only, and most software on the net is for UBUNTU

and i am a webdesigner so i need some software and i love the default UBUNTU theme ( also i like UBUNTU STUDIO )

I need a linux version that runs totally from usb 4gig stick, i found out that fedora can run like this very easily and i can save changes to it also

But i am in love with UBUNTU {although i never used it }, i searched for a way to install Ubuntu on 4gig usb but i found very hard ways that include scripting and weird symbols,

SO IS THERE A WAY TO INSTALL UBUNTU ON 4GB USB EASILY ? I WANT IT TO BE INSTALLED JUST LIKE NORMAL HDD INSTALLS, I WANT TO BE ABLE TO SAVE MY SETTINGS AND PROGRAMS ,

if not, IS FEDORA 9 SIMILAR TO UBUNTU?

IS UBUNTU or FEDORA FASTER THAN WINDOWS ON SLOW PCs?

HELP ME PLEASE and sorry for mentioning Fedora here but i had to

Thank you

tamoneya
July 25th, 2008, 04:13 PM
if you dont want to have to mess around with command line and optimizing what programs and such you have installed and which are necessary and which are not you should go with xubuntu instead of ubuntu. It is the lightweight version of ubuntu. Should work fine with your drive and still leave space for your documents.

Rhubarb
July 25th, 2008, 04:16 PM
This will allow you to install Ubuntu (with persistancy, so you can save documents etc and it'll be there when you boot up from it next time):
From the Ubuntu live CD: http://www.pendrivelinux.com/2008/05/08/usb-ubuntu-804-persistent-install-via-the-live-cd/
From a linux environment: http://www.pendrivelinux.com/2008/05/15/usb-ubuntu-804-persistent-install-from-linux/

Pumalite
July 25th, 2008, 04:34 PM
You can install to your USB as if it were a hard drive.
Search post by Herman

jimv