PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Unable to run Ubuntu test demo from boot CD

JDtheHutt
July 25th, 2008, 11:01 AM
Hi, I'm completely new to Linux and have finally decided to move off Windows as my daily OS and try something different.

I have downloaded both the 32 bit and 64 bit versions of Ubuntu and thought that first of all I'd run the disc and see what it was like and if it worked on my machine.
However, both the 64 bit and 32 bit fail to load correctly. I boot up into the menu and select to test Ubuntu. It then goes to the loading screen and I see the bar going back and forth for a bit, then it starts to fill up from the left and ends up hanging at exactly the same point every single time: just before it fills three blocks on the load bar.

I verified the write of the CD when I burnt the iso on, I have run the CD check utility in the boot menu and I have tested my memory multiple times using the boot menu utility. All come up as perfect passes.

I have been checking my hardware to see if there are any issues causing it to hang. Some of it I have located on various websites and hardware lists as cleared, others I cannot find references anywhere for, so do not know whether they are compatible or not.

I list my hardware here and whether I have found any references regarding compatibility.

Memory (Corsair XMS2 6400) – Compatible

CPU (Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Socket 775 2.4GHz) – Compatible

Soundgraph iMON VFD Black – Compatible

GPU (MSI RX1950XT-VT2D256E-HD 256MB DDR3 TV PCI-E) – Unknown, although reports seem to indicate the 1950 chipset is compatible.

Motherboard (MSI S775 Intel 975X ATx Audio Lan power Up Edition Platinum) – Unknown

Mouse (Logitech G7) – Unknown

DVD (Samsung Writemaster SH-S183A/BEBN SATA) - Unknown