PDA

View Full Version : Computer Science Conversion courses

spadewarrior
July 24th, 2008, 11:17 PM
Has anyone done one of these?

I'm planning on taking one. It's a one year (or two year part time) course that converts your degree to computer science.

People I know have said good things about this particular one. I was wondering what other people thought of them.

tinny
July 24th, 2008, 11:53 PM
1 year sounds a bit short. What degree do you have already?

If you are coming from a Maths background then I could understand it only being 1 year.

spadewarrior
July 25th, 2008, 12:59 AM
I have a degree in Politics and Philosophy.

pmasiar
July 25th, 2008, 02:00 AM
Sounds like a scam. What online university is it? Is it certified anywhere?

Of course you will get the 'degree', but you cannot possibly get the knowledge, unless you were serious hacker before, or you are extremely smart and dedicated.

There are plenty of smart people doing programming without a degree in CompSci - programming is mostly about thinking. But you need to be very sharp thinker to soak all knowledge in a year.

IMHO better than useless degree from non-affiliated online http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diploma_mill, you could try recognized online courses, like O'Reilly certifications. You can work on your own pace, and if you are smart and dedicated, you can get certified in a year - and certification is issued by University in Urbana-Champlain, not diploma mill.

See http://www.ope.ed.gov/accreditation/

mike_g
July 25th, 2008, 02:26 AM
I'd like to shift to CS. I did my first 2yr degree in e-commerece; was a load of bs that was, lol. CS seems to be maths heavy tho, so I might go for software engineering for my 3rd year if I ever get around to it. I never bothered with school as a kid, so kind of missed out the maths stuff. If you're good at programming and maths CS should be no problem tho. Good luck with it ;)

tinny
July 25th, 2008, 03:55 AM