PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 7.04 login error



SOI_Version4.0
July 24th, 2008, 07:12 PM
This pops up after I enter my user/pass before logging in:

Userís $HOME/.dmrc file is being ignored. This prevents the default session and language from being saved. File should be owned by user and have 644 permissions. Userís $HOME directory must be owned by user and writable by other users.


I'm a Windows user normally but like the "feel" of Ubuntu, but as such, I do not fully understand certain errors. Help me please, both simple & advanced solutions.

DGortze380
July 24th, 2008, 07:16 PM
This pops up after I enter my user/pass before logging in:

Userís $HOME/.dmrc file is being ignored. This prevents the default session and language from being saved. File should be owned by user and have 644 permissions. Userís $HOME directory must be owned by user and writable by other users.


I'm a Windows user normally but like the "feel" of Ubuntu, but as such, I do not fully understand certain errors. Help me please, both simple & advanced solutions.

Open a terminal and try the following commands. (replace anything in <> with the appropriate text)



sudo chown <username> /home/<username>/.dmrc


then



sudo chmod 644 /home/<username>/.dmrc

SOI_Version4.0
July 24th, 2008, 07:37 PM
Open a terminal and try the following commands. (replace anything in <> with the appropriate text)



sudo chown <username> /home/<username>/.dmrc


then



sudo chmod 644 /home/<username>/.dmrc


ok then what?

jimv
July 24th, 2008, 07:45 PM
Then hopefully the error is gone.

SOI_Version4.0
July 24th, 2008, 07:47 PM
Then hopefully the error is gone.

so restart or log out?

SOI_Version4.0
July 25th, 2008, 01:06 AM
Open a terminal and try the following commands. (replace anything in <> with the appropriate text)



sudo chown <username> /home/<username>/.dmrc


then



sudo chmod 644 /home/<username>/.dmrc


ok I performed the tasks in terminal & it worked ok with that reboot & now I think it's not working again, so I'm a bit stuck as to what to do. Also, I'd appreciate some tip on configuring my RoadRunner Cable modem wired connection. I'm using firestarter for my firewall, but really, I only know enough to mess things up.

SOI_Version4.0
July 25th, 2008, 02:31 AM
I just tried sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart - reset network & got back this, I apologize for the length but I don't understand most of the info it returned...

* Reconfiguring network interfaces... There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.eth1.pid with pid 7941
killed old client process, removed PID file
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.4
Copyright 2004-2006 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

Listening on LPF/eth1/00:10:5a:13:d1:b9
Sending on LPF/eth1/00:10:5a:13:d1:b9
Sending on Socket/fallback
DHCPRELEASE on eth1 to 10.4.0.1 port 67
There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.eth1.pid with pid 134993416
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.4
Copyright 2004-2006 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

Listening on LPF/eth1/00:10:5a:13:d1:b9
Sending on LPF/eth1/00:10:5a:13:d1:b9
Sending on Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
DHCPOFFER from 10.4.0.1
DHCPREQUEST on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
DHCPACK from 10.4.0.1
bound to 76.183.126.188 -- renewal in 1435 seconds.
RTNETLINK answers: File exists
run-parts: /etc/network/if-up.d/avahi-autoipd exited with return code 2
eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.eth2.pid with pid 134993416
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.4
Copyright 2004-2006 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
Bind socket to interface: No such device
Failed to bring up eth2.
ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.ath0.pid with pid 134993416
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.4
Copyright 2004-2006 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
Bind socket to interface: No such device
Failed to bring up ath0.
wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.wlan0.pid with pid 134993416
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.4
Copyright 2004-2006 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
Bind socket to interface: No such device
Failed to bring up wlan0.

I gather that the ERROR parts are something not being detected or configured correctly. But that's about all I have any clue about, & I very well could be wrong on that. Let me know what you all think on this & where I go from here.

SOI_Version4.0
July 25th, 2008, 09:43 PM
ok I decided to burn a 8.04LTS cd & i'm running that & my network works. I also disconected my ethernet from my secondary 3com ethernet card, it's now running from my Intel Pro card. I'm now having a sound issue, my sound card is a SoundBlaster Live 24-bit.

SOI_Version4.0
July 27th, 2008, 05:43 AM
I think I'll try Ubuntu at a later time, thanks for the help everyone

whistlerspa
July 28th, 2008, 09:29 AM
I deleted my .dmrc file thinking that it would be recreated - but it hasn't. Is there any fix for this?

eightmillion
July 28th, 2008, 09:35 AM
you should be able to recreate it. It should look something like this...


[Desktop]
Session=gnome

And change the permissions to 600 with

chmod 600 .dmrc

whistlerspa
August 1st, 2008, 11:16 PM
I:('ve done all of this and am still getting the error window on login Is there anything else I can do. It doesn't seem to be anything but an annoyance but it is annoying to see it every time I log in

mfdc1969
August 6th, 2008, 03:01 AM
I am running Hardy but I had the same message upon login. I found a solution at this posting (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=866726&highlight=%24HOME%2F.dmrc)

It only started to appear after Update Manager installed an update for my laptop's Intel display. I'm not sure which file though ...

Here is what the user "vor" posted to aid the others:


Re: Help:Strange Pop Up Warning when Loggin in
Ok, I was able to reproduce this doing a "sudo chmod 777 /home/username". To fix it, try:

Code:

sudo chmod 0755 /home/your_username

Those are the default permissions for a home directory and should fix the problem.

I hope it helps you.

It worked for me on Hardy.

whistlerspa
August 6th, 2008, 12:12 PM
'Re: Help:Strange Pop Up Warning when Loggin in
Ok, I was able to reproduce this doing a "sudo chmod 777 /home/username". To fix it, try:'

Yes this worked for me after a reboot - and the .dmrc file recreated itself this time :-)