PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can I "Move" Grub?

fl_archaos
July 24th, 2008, 09:28 AM
Hello,

I installed ubuntu on an external usb drive. When it came to partitioning, being a newbie, I made sure in my paranioa to make my internal drive unused. I think this means the bootloader has installed to the external drive - everytime I start without the usb drive attached grub fails. As a complete newbie, will reistalling ubuntu to this partition of the external drive mean I can "write" grub to the boot section of my internal drive? Or is there a relatively simple way to "move" grub (and good first-blooding on linux)?

Many thanks for any help, I've been on a 24hr head-scratch-athon.

Cheers
Nicholas

coffeecat
July 24th, 2008, 12:37 PM
Your problem is that grub stage 2 and the menu file - /boot/grub/menu.lst - are on the external drive.

Explanation - grub stage 1 is in the mbr, the first few hundred bytes of the master hard drive. It replaces the code that Windows would have put there. There are only about 400 bytes, and all it does is to call up grub stage 1.5 (about 8 Kb) which is written to an otherwise unused portion of the hard drive, near the beginning, just after the partition table. Stage 1.5 in turn calls up stage 2 which is why you get a failure when your external drive is not attached.

I applaud your caution (I wouldn't be so impertinent as to call it paranoia) but, as you can see, some parts of grub have been written to the internal drive, which means you have to repair the mbr in the unlikely :wink: event of wanting to ditch Linux.